A GLANCE AT THE PAST
On September 15, 1919, the Reverend W. A. Zundel met with a small group in Billings for the purpose of organizing an English Lutheran Congregation. From this origin developed the First English Lutheran Church of Billings which was officially organized on May 16, 1920.
A church had been purchased from the Swedish Misson Church and the first regular worship was held in it on February 7, 1921.
On March 15, 1948 the lots for the new church were purchased for $6500, and groundbreaking services were held on April 12, 1953 at the church's present location. Much volunteer labor from the congregation saved a considerable sum on the
final cost of the church.
“Building our church has been much more than a business transaction; it has been a spiritual venture of faith.”
In 1969 the contract for the stained glass chancel
window was approved at a price of $8500. Currently (2011) it is valued at well over $500,000 in replacement value.
H. E. Reinhardt, 1921-1923
John R. Bacher, 1923-1925
Mr. Dornblaser 1925
J. Richard Olson, 1926-1928
Harold N. Stoffel, 1928-1936
Glenn Cloninger, 1936-1941
John Shannon, 1942-1943
A. C. Baumgaertner, 1944-1948
John P. Shannon, 1948-1967
Paul T. Seastrand, 1968-1976
George Lusk, 1977-1979
Dr. David Frans Larson, 1980-1984
Curtis Haney, 1985-1990
Dr. Paul J. Seastrand, 1991-2000
Tim Meyer, 2001-2003
Dick Wolfe, 2003-2005
Mark Donald, 2006-Present
As FELC moved into the 21st century it overcame problems and is once again a vibrant faith community. Join us for worship, all are welcome!